multi. jointed swim bait

Questions about Making Your Own Lures

multi. jointed swim bait

Postby Rim B. » Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:04 am

sorry im a noob here....
but have anybody try making a multi jointed swim bait like spro?
Rim B.

Re: multi. jointed swim bait

Postby dahlberg » Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:57 am

I've been making giant sized S-Wavers, and others have made them as well. Check out the submission from AKAanglingarcher in the makelure contest.
best,
L
Larry Dahlberg
The Hunt For Big Fish
dahlberg
Site Admin

Postby GMan » Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:48 am

WOW! That Wondering Tail Dragger is awesome! Good work!
GMan

Postby Mike - Alumilite » Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:24 pm

Check out this how to from MakeLure.com website (how tos) ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9KzUeGtEd4

Mike
Mike - Alumilite

Postby aka anglinarcher » Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:03 pm

GMan wrote:
> WOW! That Wondering Tail Dragger is awesome! Good work!

Thanks GMan. I wish the lure video was better, but the lure has sure caught me a lot of fish this last year. Quite frankly, it would be easier to buy it then make it, so if someone put it into production, it would make my life easier. LOL :lol: Still, it is so effective, I am more then willing to make it for myself if that is what it takes to catch fish.

It is not that hard to design the joints. I used small cotter pins from the hardware store on one end and used a through pin on the other end. The side with the through pin had little pockets molded into them to receive the cotter pin heads. I used a V joint design instead of a round joint because I discovered that I lost the Sine Wave action if I had too much flexibility. If you want a normal and very realistic swiming bait, a round joint or even a flat joint is perfect, and easy. The flat joint exposes the joint to view but is easier to keep clean when painting than the V or round joints.

Give it a try, you would be shocked at how well you can do at making your own lures.