Jersey coast Stripers

Questions about Saltwater Fishing

Jersey coast Stripers

Postby roaddognk » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:02 pm

One of the best outdoors show on Versus. Being a novice, the lessons on lure/rig building are a plus!
I plan on surf fishing as much as possible this year. I live in New Jersey, and have many spots along the coast (Island Beach State Park, Sandy Hook,ect.) to target Stripers.
As I stated, I'm a novice and need all the help I can get to be successfull. I have always (like yourself) enjoyed the action of topwater, and would love to hear your suggestions. Basically, what bait/lures/rigs, would you have in your arsenal, and what techniques would you use? Thank You!
Steve
roaddognk

Re: Jersey coast Stripers

Postby JRisapirate » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:35 pm

IBSP is great for stripers and blues, I'd suggest pencil popers and bucktails.. The weakfish on the back-side of the hook like small crankbaits and surface plugs and dont forget about your soft plastics.. Larry I'm not sure if this is cool or not to suggest another website but it has a very active plug building forum and is primarily NJ firshermen... www.thebassbarn.com

To be honest fresh surf clam will outfish any plug or artificial every spring and fall, might even get a big black drum on the clam. fishfinder rig 50lb Florocarbon and an 8/0 hook. Find some calmer water between some breakers a nice slew, or down by the getty
P.E.T.S. Member
JRisapirate

Postby dahlberg » Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:18 pm

Hi R
I'm flattered you ask, but I'm sure there are lots of guys on this forum who have much more experience with stripers than I and are in tune with your area as well! Hopefully a few will weigh in!
Glad you enjoy the show.
best
L
Larry Dahlberg
The Hunt For Big Fish
dahlberg
Site Admin

Postby JRisapirate » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:08 pm