Billfish Research and Resin Spinner Blades

Questions about Saltwater Fishing

Billfish Research and Resin Spinner Blades

Postby Fred6944 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:12 pm

This may seem like an odd post but, I am a marine biologist specializing in tagging billfish. I am currently using satellite tags to track marlin and sailfish off Costa Rica. I am working on a new way of attaching my tags to the fish that isn't as invasive as traditional techniques. In my design process I have come up with a barbed anchor that looks very similar to your resin spinner blades. That being said I could use some advice on resin choices and the process for making them. I am looking for a resin that is strong and could withstand upwards of six months of continuous exposure to saltwater. In addition, I would potentially need to drill into this resin to anchor the barbs into the anchor. Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.
Fred6944

Re: Billfish Research and Resin Spinner Blades

Postby dahlberg » Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:08 am

Hi F
That IS an interesting question. The urethanes are extremely tough, can be drilled etc, and chemical resistant, but I'm not sure which is the best for your purpose. I will ask my friend Mike at Alumilite to weigh in. Do you have a crude sketch or anything we can look at to get an idea of where and how much the stresses might be?
best,
L
Larry Dahlberg
The Hunt For Big Fish
dahlberg
Site Admin

Postby Fred6944 » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:27 pm