Tortola BVI

Questions about Saltwater Fishing

Tortola BVI

Postby bigox » Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:12 pm

Larry,
I am a land locked (Utah, USA) fresh water fanatic but I will soon be going to Tortola and Virgin Gorda, BVI for a few weeks in February. I will be staying mainly in Road Town and I have limited salt water experience and gear. I have a 7 weight fly outfit but that's not what I need help with. What would you recommend in a casting rig for shore fishing and reef fishing? Can the same rig be used for both? Also, I am overwhelmed by the selection of lures and was hoping you could help narrow it down some. I will be fishing mostly from the shore but will have access to a small boat. Any deep water fishing I do will be guided so my questions are for shallow waters close to the islands.
Thanks for sharing your life with us. We are all better for it.
bigox

Re: Tortola BVI

Postby dahlberg » Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:49 am

hi big,
I'd pick either a 7'6" med heavy rod with a Curado 300 or calcutta 400, or a spinning rod 8' long with a minimum of 4000 size shimano.
You want some topwater poppers or walking baits, some spoons, jigs, and maybe 3/4 oz rattletraps.
The key in salt, if fishing for minnow eaters, is being able to wing it a mile and in most cases move it with a great deal of speed.
Yes, the same rig should be ok for both unless you've got tiny fish on the flats and huge ones off the edge. The issue then would not be so much landing the fish, but being able to effectively fish lures that might range from less than 1/4 to two oz or more.
You'll want to bring some wire and also "hard" mono for leaders. Also would suggest small hooks, sabiki rigs, etc. for catching live bait, and maybe some balloons to float it out on outgoing tides or offshore winds.
good luck, have fun!
L
Larry Dahlberg
The Hunt For Big Fish
dahlberg
Site Admin

Postby Monstah » Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:28 pm

Larry,