What patterns should I bring to Cape Cod?

Questions about Saltwater Fishing

What patterns should I bring to Cape Cod?

Postby RhettWheeler » Thu May 15, 2014 10:03 am

Hey guys,
Leaving for Cape Cod in a few weeks to do some fishing and visit family. What patterns should I make in 12" Mr. Whiggleys for stripers? I believe a lot of this depends on where you fish in cape cod, but in general what patterns should I bring?

I'm thinking mackerel (blue and green), bone white, redhead, and maybe some river herring. Anything I'm missing? All pink for a squid imitation?

-Rhett
"Fear not the man who knows 10,000 kicks but has practiced them one time. Fear the man who knows one kick and has practiced it 10,000 times."
RhettWheeler

Re: What patterns should I bring to Cape Cod?

Postby dahlberg » Thu May 15, 2014 10:38 am

sounds to me like you have it covered! Let us know how you do.
I've had some interesting experiences with stripers regarding color and whiggley while fishing in tennesee.
we'd be on active fish early, among lots of boats and they'd respond to live bait and every color whiggley we used quite well. plus were "on the move", but parking for short periods in key spots.
An hour or two after daylight, they'd really slow down. At that time the thing we could get them to chase was whiggley, but the only consistent BITES were on whiggleys that were almost EXACTLY the same as the herring. We switched places several time in the boat, we traded lures, and removed as many variables as can be removed and it was just remarkable how much more effective the one color proved to be in that instance.