Blue Water Fly Fishing

Questions about Saltwater Fishing

Blue Water Fly Fishing

Postby Henslo86 » Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:26 am

Blue water fly fishing is something I have never done before. It doesn't seem like it would interest me nearly as much as flats fishing, but none the less I am giving it two days when I am in the Cabo San Lucas area, which will be around mid March. I am sure the fish fighting technique will be a little different, seeing as the species caught are completely different from their inshore bretheren. I think I will mostly be fishing for tuna, striped marlin, and dorado. Any pointers?

p.s. I am dying to catch a rooster on a fly off the beach. How difficult is it in comparison to other fish?
Henslo86

Postby dahlberg » Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:34 am

Hi H,
You're right about the difference in the "process" between flats and blue water fly fishing.
Casting is more like "flopping the chicken overboard", but the bite is super visual and fight is usually spectacular with a billfish.
The main suggestion I'd give is to be really, really careful when the fish gets to the boat prior to landing. Because a fly rod is so long it's easy to " high stick" at the end of the fight in order to get the fish the last few feet closer to land.
Hundreds get broken every year because of this. Gotta remember to keep the load as far down in the rod but as possible when applying pressure. Also a good idea to practice with a scale so you know how hard you're pulling, and at which angle you get the most efficiency.
Roosters of any size are tough on a fly in the surf unless you find them busting bait. Best way is to tease them with bait, then toss a fly.
Speed, speed speed is the critical factor. Sometimes you can't even get a baitcastering reel to move a lure quickly enough to trigger them.
Really fun to watch them follow with their fin sizzling out of the water.
best,
L
Larry Dahlberg
The Hunt For Big Fish
dahlberg
Site Admin

Postby Henslo86 » Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:44 pm