Hand carving lures

Questions about Freshwater Fishing

Hand carving lures

Postby Aaron Goldsteen » Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:39 pm

Hey Larry,
I have been muskie fishing close to 10 years now and have been experimenting with different baits. I couldn't find a LARGE walk the dog topwater around 12-13" so i carved one, it turned out so well that iv been carving toppwaters for the past week. my question is one do you hand carve any lures, if so any tips(wood, knifes,designs). And two, what head shapes would give me the best surface walk the dog action, should i go with a rounder head like a wide glide, or a slightly pointed head like a Poes Jackpot? Oh, and the reason i ask is because the only fishing i have been doing for the past 2 months is ice fishing, so i haven't gotten any chance to test them out,(the bath tub doesn't work to well for muskie lures), and i don't want to be disappointed when muskie season comes around and there's little to no action in my new lures.
thanks.
Aaron Goldsteen

Re: Hand carving lures

Postby dahlberg » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:34 am

Hi a
Yes, I've carved many lures, in fact I've been doing it for over 50 years! Nowadays I've pretty much shifted totally to Alumilite because it's quicker and easier if you're going to make more than one or two of something.
When proto typing, I always go in very purposeful stages, and always design and construct the first models so they can be easily modified on the water. In other words, weight, drills, gram scale, extra screw eyes or even basic shaping tools come with me in the field.
You will find that there are several basic elements to consider; shape, specific gravity, center of gravity, balance, and of course location of connection point.
Lures have many similarities to things that are supposed to fly, like kites, missles, and gliders, but they operate in a much thicker medium than air, so the effect of their control surfaces and shape are greatly amplified.