Glide Lures for Peacock Bass

Questions about Freshwater Fishing

Glide Lures for Peacock Bass

Postby montywood » Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:37 am

Larry, in preparation for a trip to the Amazon I ordered some of your glide lures. Is it recommended to tie this lure directly to braid without any leader. I have not used leaders in the past. Your comments, please. Thanks, Monty
montywood

Re: Glide Lures for Peacock Bass

Postby Dan Hanon » Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:27 pm

Obviously not Larry, but I have some experience with this lure.

On a prior post, Larry said he used 60lb to 130lb hard mono leader on all of his peacock lures depending on how heavy the cover was. He uses an open loop knot with the Wide Glide.

I connect my braid to mono leader with an Albright or double nail knot. A PT or FG knot is better, but more complicated. Don't use a swivel to connect the leader to the mainline because that will impede the lure's gliding action.
Dan Hanon

Postby montywood » Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:06 am

Thank You very much. After I asked the question I read old post and found my answer there. I will try leader material this trip for the first time. Thanks again, Monty
montywood

Postby dahlberg » Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:02 pm

HI monty
Glad you wrote. Do not get surface version. it's not weighted properly for peacocks. It's in process of being changed.
the big subsurface one has been absolutely amazing once you figure out how to work it.
We've been using three or four foot leaders with pt knots to braid. leaders up to 100# for big fish in heavy wood.
Open loop is best, but by no means a must once you get the hang of making it zig zag and turn with powerful
sharp almost 180 degree corners.
Larry Dahlberg
The Hunt For Big Fish
dahlberg
Site Admin

Postby puckfisher » Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:54 pm