New to forum.

General Questions

New to forum.

Postby Duke » Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:53 pm

Hi folks, I'm new to the forum and just want to say Hello. Larry, I love your show, keep up the good work! My fishing buddy brought over your Panfish and Bass with flyrod DVD. I am a beginner with the flyrod and the instructions are going to help me tremendously. I am also just getting into using a baitcaster after many years of spinning. I would love to have simple, clear cut instructions for the baitcaster like the ones for the flyrod. Do you have any DVD, book or article that can help? Thanks.
Duke

Postby roncarr » Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:07 pm

I just joined as well love the show
fish on!
roncarr

Postby Chris M » Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:24 am

Baitcasting difficulty is overrated. Just use the spool tension knob (name?) and the brake dial (again, name?). Tighten them down and start there. Loosen them after you get control of the line when it's coming off the real. Now I don't use either, all thumb control. I make sure I dial them in if I am letting someone use it, which I do very reluctantly.
I know Larry can give you much better instructions, but it is sometimes a few days before he gets back to the board.
Hope I eased your anxiety about casters a little.
Let's fish!
Chris
Chris M

Postby dahlberg » Thu Mar 29, 2007 5:39 am

HI Duke,
Thanks for the post, and kind words!
The baitcasters of today are much, much, easier to operate than the non-free spool versions I grew up with, but do take a little more skill than spinning.
One of the real keys is to make sure the rod is not too stiff and the lure is heaviy enough to easily load it.